top of page
Search
  • sachesnutt

A shift in perspective

Zoom meetings have become a normal part of my daily existence as we continue to navigate the waters of COVID-19. In good Outward Bound fashion, many of these meetings begin with a simple go-around question generally aimed at allowing us the opportunity to share how we are feeling amid the uncertainty. Well one of the questions this week really stuck with me was this: What is something that is bringing you joy?

We’ve seen so much in the media, and likely in our daily lives, focused on all that is going wrong. Whether a lack of supplies, lack of employment, lack of leadership, the list goes on. Well I would challenge us to take a moment to shift our perspective to a place that allows us to see that hope is on the horizon. I think one of the easiest ways shift our perspective and see the horizon, is to take a moment to recognize the things that are bringing you joy during these crazy times.

In a normal May I would be running around (with many of you) from training to training, absorbing information and getting excited for the arrival of students for their Outward Bound courses this summer. I would rarely have a moment to myself. Instead, I find that I have nothing but time. I have time to drink a cup of coffee on my porch each morning while watching the birds gather their breakfast and leaves bud a little bit further, reaching for the warm sunlight. I am able to lay in bed and snuggle my four legged fellas for more than a few seconds. I have time to get a few projects done around my home and actually tend my garden with intention. I have time to spend with my small family, in my home, surrounded by beauty. Quite simply, I am able to stop. I am able to slow down. I am able to take notice.

When I take these moments, I am overwhelmed by the number of things I have to be grateful for. They are small things. They are plentiful. I won’t bore you with the details but I will tell you that they exist if I take the time to shift my perspective. I challenge you to take a moment and do the same.


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page